top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaz

Twilight Traveller

My third painting was one of my favourites to do, it was inspired by our time on the road, when we travelled Australia in a B Double truck, working together.


Wayne and I decided on our journey, to work over most of the Christmases, our children had left home by now and were doing their own thing, they lived all about the place and we had no home base, so we just kept in contact by phone.


There were some truck drivers who had family living with them, but could never get home for Christmas, so we rang our boss and asked if we could work so one of them could go home.


The average trip to Perth took 4 days driving, or 5 depending on which way you had to go, but on a Christmas run we had 7 days to get there!


We made the most of our spare time and pulled over a few times to enjoy the journey, my Birthday is around Christmas, so we used to pull over at our special lookout spot each year as a treat.


This photo was inspired by one such spot.

I took a photo of my husband watching the sun, he looked so small in the big scheme of things, I wanted to capture that.


I had a print made of the photo and emblellished it with oils, it is hanging up in my Mother-in-laws house.


I felt like I had entered a new phase of painting, I was developing a style and really enjoying it!!!!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page